The event takes place in the Scherrer Auditorium at ETH Zurich, Departement of Information Technology and Electrical Engineering, located in the center of Zurich. The venue is reachable conveniently by taking the Polybahn funicular from Zurich Central, which is reachable by a short walk across the river Limmat bridge from Zurich main station. For schedules and tickets of trains, subways, trams, and buses consult or install the SBB mobile app. There is only limited parking available on site and we encourage travelling by public transport. Numerous hotels are located in the Zurich Central area.


Address of venue:

ETH Zurich

Scherrer Auditorium

Departement of Information Technology and Electrical Engineering D-ITET

Gloriastrasse 35

809 Zurich



All correspondence should be addressed to:

Empa - Swiss Federal Laboratories for Materials Science

Laboratory 501

Ueberlandstrasse 129

8600 Duebendorf







Friends and sponsors 2022 (to be updated)



Participants for the Swiss Battery Days 2024 will be able to register here once registration opens on May 1 2024.


CHF xx for senior academics and industry

CHF xx for PhD students and postdocs


Registration is closing on August 16 2024. The registration fee covers three lunches, all coffee breaks during the conference, and the welcome apero in the evening of Monday August 26 2024. Tickets for the banquet and the evening of Tuesday August 27 2024 can be booked optionally for CHF xx via the same link. For cancellations until August 16 2024, 50% of the registration fee will be charged. After August 16 2024 or in case of non appearance, the full registration fee is charged. A substitute will be accepted anytime upon written request to . PhD students and postdocs are requested to present a proof of their status on site. We encourage early registration as the number of participants is limited and handled on a first come - first served basis.

Friends and sponsors 2022 (to be updated)

Abstract Submission

Abstract submission for the 6th edition of the Swiss Battery Days will open on May 1 2024. Abstract submission is not mandatory for attending the event, but we encourage in particular PhD students and postdocs to submit abstracts on their recent work. We accept abstracts on the following topics:


  • Synthesis and characterization of battery materials
  • Integration of battery materials in electrodes and cells
  • Topics related to battery cell manufacturing


Only abstracts adhering strictly to the abstract template will be accepted. The abstract template can be downloaded here. Please submit your abstract to


Abstract submission is closing on June 30 2024. Notification of abstract acceptance on July 19 2024. Abstracts for oral and poster presentations will be selected by the scientific committee.

Friends and sponsors 2022 (to be updated)

Swiss Battery Days 2024

August 26-28 2024


Empa and PSI jointly organize the 6th edition of the Swiss Battery Days taking place on August 26-28 at ETH Zurich. The aim of this event is to provide young researchers, active in the field of battery materials research and cell manufacturing, a platform to present their results and to connect to renowned battery researchers from Europe. The event offers a unique opportunity to strengthen and expand the network to the Swiss battery community. The scope of the event ranges from the synthesis and characterization of battery materials to their integration into electrodes and cells, including topics related to cell manufacturing. August 28 is reserved for talks on aspects of industrial cell manufacturing at scale and national/international initiatives.



ETH Zurich, Scherrer Auditorium, Gloriastrasse 35, 8092 Zurich


Important dates

May 1 2024 Registration opening

May 1 2024 Abstract submission opening

June 30 2024 Abstract submission closing

July 19 2024 Notification abstract acceptance

August 18 2024 Registration closing

August 26-28 2024 Swiss Battery Days





Dr.. David Reber, Empa (chair)

Prof. Dr. Corsin Battaglia, Empa, ETHZ, EPFL (co-chair)

Dr. Sigita Trabesinger, Paul Scherrer Institute (vice chair)


Local organizing committee

Dr. David Reber, Empa

Prof. Dr. Corsin Battaglia, Empa, ETHZ, EPFL

Daniela Isler-Schmid, Empa

Nadine Rieder, Empa


Scientific committee

Dr. David Reber, Empa

Prof. Dr. Corsin Battaglia, Empa, ETHZ, EPFL

Dr. Sigita Trabesinger, Paul Scherrer Institute

Dr. Mario El Kazzi, Paul Scherrer Institute


International advisory board

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Zeier, University of Münster, Germany

Prof. Dr. Julia Maibach, Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden

Prof. Dr, Ingo Krossing, Albert-Ludwigs-University Freiburg, Germany

Prof. Dr. Erik J. Berg, Uppsala University, Sweden

Prof. Dr. Alejandro A. Franco, University of Picardie Jules Vernes, France


Confirmed invited speakers










Friends and sponsors 2022 (to be updated)


Scientific Program


The scientific program will available here on July 19 2024.


Friends and sponsors 2022 (to be updated)